Please Welcome Author Codi Gary!

I’m delighted to have fellow author and twitter friend, Codi Gary. She’s chatting about her release and the EIGHTIES!! Duckie man…Duckie.

When you end up with a Duckie…

So I’m a lover of 80’s movies (especially the brat pack high school romances). My favorite movie is by John Hughes called Some Kind of Wonderful.

Now, the story goes, when they were making Pretty in Pink, Andy was supposed to end up with Duckie, but they changed it because of chemistry issues between Ringwald and Crier. Hughes wasn’t happy because he wanted a friends to lovers story, so Some Kind of Wonderful was his make up! I agreed with Molly Ringwald on the issue of Duckie. For me, I loved him but he was so over the top embarrassing that I would have had a hard time falling for him romantically. I loved him for who he was and always having Andy’s best interests at heart, but I couldn’t see them together. If Duckie had calmed down, if maybe he had been a little less dramatic, maybe, but that wasn’t the character John Hughes wrote.

Which brings me to Some Kind of Wonderful. Here you have two best friends (Keith and Watts). Watt’s is head over heels for him, but he is too hung up on beautiful, popular Amanda Jones to see what’s right in front of him. Then you have the kiss between them when she’s helping him “practice” for his big date with Amanda. Sparks flew so hot I’m surprised they didn’t combust. For me, this is what friends to lovers is supposed to be. One or both of them oblivious to how obviously right they were for each other and the steam that appears on the screen (or on the pages) that shows you that moment where they start to realize it to.

In my first novella, The Trouble with Sexy, Gregg and Ryan liked each other, but had no idea the other felt that way. It isn’t until she gets her makeover that Gregg gets the guts to go for it before he loses her to someone else.

For me, if a woman is in love with a man, and he doesn’t realize it, he’s oblivious and needs some shaking up. For a woman to not realize it, my first thought is…what’s the obstacle? Is she in another relationship? Is she afraid it won’t work out and she’ll lose him as a friend? What’s the motivation for not seeing something that should be obvious (usually, guys aren’t very subtle.)

So when I’m writing this story line and the two have been friends for a while, I have to think of reasons why they haven’t gotten together before now and what’s going to make the timing right this time? Does the reasoning make sense? Do the characters have that spark? I ask myself these questions so I don’t end up with a major rewrite…or a consolation novel later on.

Oh Codi, I get it. I do! The timing is everything and the chemistry must be perfect. As an eighties fan myself, I think of movies like, St. Elmo’s Fire and The Breakfast Club. Would Molly have given the ‘bad boy’ the time of day if not tossed into detention with him?

Thank you for coming and bringing back awesome memories and sharing some insight on your inner thinkings when writing.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Please Welcome Author Codi Gary!

  1. Thanks for having me love!

    Like

Leave a Reply

