Welcome Author Becky Lower

        Please Welcome: Author Becky Lower

     Banking on Temperance: Book Three of the Cotillion Ball Series

 

Blurb:

Banking On Temperance—Book 3 in the Cotillion Ball Series

 

Basil Fitzpatrick was born into a life of privilege. In 1856, at 23 years of age, he is the owner of the St. Louis branch of the family banking business. He has his pick of the ladies and life by the horns. Temperance Jones and her family are far from privileged. Her father is a circuit-riding preacher from Pennsylvania. But the rumblings of a war between the North and the South force the preacher to move his family to Oregon rather than to take up arms against his fellow man. However, hardship and sickness have slowed their pace, and they are forced to spend the winter in St. Louis, waiting for the next wagon trains to leave in the spring.

 

Basil is drawn to the large family the moment they roll into town, partly because they remind him of his own big family in New York. But also because of the eldest daughter, Temperance. She is a tiny, no-nonsense spitfire who is bent on fulfilling her father’s wish to get the family safely to Oregon. Basil is only interested in finding a mistress, not a wife. He knows if he allows Temperance into his heart, he is accepting the obligation of her entire family and their quest to settle in Oregon. He wants Temperance like he has wanted no other, but the burden of her family may be too much for him. And he can’t have one without the other.

 

Good morning Becky, so glad you made some time to swing by. So, let’s start this right off. You have a new book out. What’s it called?

 

Becky: Banking On Temperance, which is the third book in the Cotillion Ball Series.

 

What’s it about?

 

Becky: It’s an historical romance, about one of the Fitzpatrick brothers, Basil. He’s the branch manager of his father’s bank in St. Louis, and has been handed a life of privilege. He’s not looking for marriage, only a good time. But Temperance Jones and her family walk into his bank and upset all of his plans.

 

How did you come up with the idea?

 

Becky: Basil and St. Louis played a secondary role in the first novel in this series. One of my early readers told me she hoped I’d write about him, since he needed a strong woman to straighten out his uptight ass. How could I resist?

 

What makes a perfect read for you?

 

Becky: I love stories that have strong characters, and I want to see a relationship develop. It doesn’t need to be a long build-up, but I want something. No sex in the first five minutes kind of thing. And I love the second chance stories.

 

Favorite or most wished place to write?

 

Becky: Now that it’s almost summer, I move my writing to the screened-in porch.  Winters, I’m inside in my office. This is the first house I’ve had that I could have an office in.

 

What’s the one word you use that makes you blush when using? Any? Some authors have a word or giggle phrase that causes them to ponder using.

 

Becky: I really can’t think of any. I recently used the word “fornicate” in a contemporary that I’m working on, but it doesn’t make me blush. I love the word.

 

Is it in the book?

 

Becky: No, not in Banking On Temperance.

 

Anything you want to tell us about the book?

 

Becky: This is the first book I’ve written with a male in the lead role. I had a great deal of fun writing it because it was so different for me to crawl into a guy’s head for a while.

 

Okay-Speed Round, old school style. Just for shits and giggles.

 

1st crush-Delbert, when I was in kindergarten

1st Kiss-I was a late bloomer. I was 19, and working at a root beer stand for the summer. I think he just wanted free root beer.

Biggest blooper to date– (C’mon, we all had one) None that I’m willing to claim in public

Celebrity Crush-Irish golfer Graeme McDowell (this week, anyway)

True Blood or Vampire Diaries-True Blood. Hate the vamps

Angels or Demons-Angels

 

Alright–now that we’ve had a peek of Becky Lower’s new release as well as peek inside the mind of Becky herself, how about a giveaway.

Becky Lower is giving away ONE ARC (ebook only) to one commenter who answers the below question. Contest open until 6/5/13

 

Becky’s Question– Where does this book take place?

 

Thanks for stopping by and to keep up with Becky, follow her on;

Twitter: @BeckyLower1

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/beckylowerauthor

or her website: http://www.beckylowerauthor.com

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Welcome Author Becky Lower

  1. Loved the interview and the blurb!! Congratulations on your release, Becky! I tweeted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

